Four Board Directors for Landcare NSW

Landcare NSW has reached another major milestone in its new governance arrangements with the completion of the first open recruitment of Directors to its Board.

Four Board Directors will be announced in the coming month, following an extensive and thorough recruitment process driven by the Landcare NSW Nominations Committee.

The Committee, whose role is to manage the recruitment and vetting of nominees for election to the role of Director, has been working hard to ensure a smooth transition from the former structure to an enhanced, transparent and representative system for the organisation.

The Committee is comprised of Landcare NSW Vice Chair Gareth Johnston (who is the chair of the Committee), Landcare NSW Secretary Lyn Thomson, and independent director Bruce Rolph.

Chair of the Landcare NSW Nominations Committee, Gareth Johnston said: “I am pleased to report the Committee has been successful in finding excellent candidates for all four Board positions, two Ordinary Directors and two Independent Directors.

“For the two ordinary positions, there was one candidate for the Western electoral zone and one for the Central West and Central Tablelands electoral zone.”

The new Landcare NSW Board will be composed of six Ordinary Directors to bring the perspectives of the Members living within the Ordinary Director’s respective Board Electoral Zone; and up to four Independent Directors appointed to bring any additional skills, expertise, and experience that the Board requires.

At least one of the Independent Director positions must be reserved for an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander person. Where there is no Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Director, the position will remain vacant.

Gareth said: “We were overwhelmed by the response to our call for expressions of interest for independent directors, with up to 20 high calibre applications received.

“We are especially pleased for the first time ever to have an Aboriginal Independent Director on the Board of Landcare NSW.”

The identity of the four Board Directors will be revealed in September prior to the 2022 Landcare NSW Annual General Meeting, where members present will be asked to confirm the appointments of all directors.

For further information please contact Jodie Lovell, Landcare NSW Communications,

Share This Page: