The Landcare NSW board is composed of six Ordinary Directors, elected by Landcare NSW member groups and four Independent Directors appointed by the Nominations Committee for three-year terms. To ensure that Landcare NSW has the perspective of all its members across the state, Ordinary Directors are elected from electoral zones that cover all of NSW. The Board is responsible for ensuring that the work and strategic direction of Landcare NSW are aligned with the needs of the NSW Landcare community.

Gareth Johnston

Gareth Johnston


Board Director – Murray and Riverina electoral zone

Gareth has a background in Land Management. Gareth sees Landcare as a critical element of support within a strong, resilient agro-ecological system. He believes water security, climate variability, cheap energy, adaptation and community wellbeing as key challenges for rural Australia. He hopes to connect smaller community groups with knowledge and resources that contribute to a stronger region and supports Landcare NSW leadership.

Mobile: 0433 108 391

2019 Kathy Kelly photo

Kathy Kelly


Independent Director

Kathy is a chartered accountant, registered company auditor and a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Kathy is a Director and Company Secretary for the Mulloon Institute, a leading research, education and advocacy charity focused on regenerative agriculture. Kathy is also a director of Plant Health Australia. Until June 2019 Kathy was a director of Boyce Chartered Accountants where she had a long career in practice where she specialised in the support of both family and corporate farms. Kathy brings her financial skills, governance experience and widespread agricultural experience to the Landcare NSW Board. Kathy lives in Cooma.

Mobile: 0428 883 044

Steve Bunnell

Steve Bunnell

Vice Chair

Board Director – South East and Greater Sydney electoral zone

Steve is a member of the South East Landcare Regional Landcare Coordinator steering committee and Treasurer of the Boorowa Community Landcare Group. Currently dividing his time between a finance and administration consultancy in Sydney and his wool and sheep trading property at Boorowa, Steve is active in his local Landcare and Regenerative Grazing Groups. Steve is currently undertaking several revegetation projects on his property including recently completing several tree planting and direct seeding sites.

Mobile 0419 284 836

Lyn Thomson

Lyn Thomson


Board Director – North Coast and Hunter electoral zone

Lyn Thomson has been involved with Landcare for the past 10 years. For part of that time, Lyn was Richmond Landcare’s School Officer working on various projects with many schools in their area. Lyn has a passion for Australian Native Bees and has worked with schools and the community educating them on the importance of native bees. Lyn is an executive member of North Coast Regional Landcare Network, Committee member of Richmond Landcare and Committee member of Bagot Park Landcare.

Mobile: 0410 319 311

Bruce Rolph

Bruce Rolph

Independent Director

Bruce joins Landcare NSW as a skills based Independent Director, bringing a wealth of leadership experience in banking & finance, environment & sustainability research and advocacy, and good governance & fund raising as a Chair, Director, advisor and consultant across a range of community/not-for-profit organisations. Bruce’s recently completed Masters in Environmental Management brought him into regular contact with the great work and goodwill generated by Landcarers throughout NSW. At a personal level, Bruce is a long-time custodian of a pocket of wonderful biodiversity in the Lower Hunter region now recovering from the bushfires and doing battle with lantana.

Mobile: 0417 018 886

Liz Riley

Liz Riley

Independent Director

Liz joins Landcare NSW as a skills based Independent Director, bringing diverse stakeholder experience at a local, state and national levels in the wine industry across a wide range of areas – from grape grower, through the wine value chain, to industry research development and extension, industry training and biosecurity, and bring an ability to understand a range of complementary and conflicting interests. Liz has board experience in the not for profit and charity space and provides strong governance credentials.

Mobile: 0411 203 773


Rene Woods

Independent Director

Rene joins Landcare NSW as a skills based Independent Director, and holds the seat reserved for an Aboriginal and/or  Torres Strait Islander on the Landcare NSW Board of Directors. Rene is a strong advocate for First Nation people in the Murray Darling Basin and has worked in communities in both the public and non-government organisation sectors of the Basin. He is currently employed by the Nature Conservancy Australia as a Conservation Officer and has previously held the position of chairperson of the Murray Lower Darling Rivers Indigenous Nations (2018 to 2020) and  been vice-chair of the Nari Nari Tribal Council. Rene hopes to bring a cultural lens to the work that Landcare does across NSW and to bring a better understanding and recognition of First Nations land and water practice in Landcare.

Mobile: 0424 299 929

Bruce Maynard (1)

Bruce Maynard

Board Director – Central West and Central Tablelands electoral zone

Bruce is one of Australia’s most innovative Agricultural systems thinkers who shares his unique journey of implementing and inventing breakthrough land management techniques transforming his own farm at Narromine, NSW.

Bruce invented the No Kill Cropping system, developed Stress Free Stockmanship and co-invented Self Herding. He travels Australia and overseas enjoying being a passionate and impartial voice in the promotion of agroecology that increases the diversity of communities and landscapes.

Bruce’s work can be readily found on the web at: and was recognized as Australia’s leading landcarer with the 2022 Bob Hawke Award for excellence in sustainable farming.

Mobile: 0428 890 110

Wayne Chaffey Photo

Wayne Chaffey

Board Director – North West and Northern Tablelands electoral zone

Wayne has worked with a number of Landcare organisations since the 1980’s, at local, regional and state levels, and has spent the vast majority of his life on the family farm, managing livestock and increasing biodiversity with his wife, children and now, grandchildren.

After more than forty years as a parent, science teacher, educational leader, mentor and community volunteer, Wayne promotes life-long learning, research-based change, and the education of youth to ensure community wellbeing, through an understanding of the importance of the natural world, especially local ecosystems. He, and his wife, are working to understand and improve soils, increase landscape rehydration, and through holistic planned grazing, improving their property and producing healthy cattle.

Mobile: 0400 358 217

position-vacant image

Position Vacant

Board Director – Western electoral zone

The ordinary Director role for Western region, is currently vacant.  The Landcare NSW Board Nominations Committee will be seeking expressions of interest to fill this ‘Casual Vacancy’ through until the AGM in 2025.


You can view more information here, and if you wish to to reach out to the Chair of the Nominations Committee or you can submit your 2024 Nominations Form – Board Director Candidate Expression of Interest via

Share This Page: